A propos de la Dominique

Le Commonwealth de la Dominique

Dominique était le nom donné à 289.8 SQ. Miles de terre, par Christophe Colomb, lorsqu'il atterrit ici le 3 novembre 1493. La Dominique est une nation de l'île qui fait partie des petites Antilles dans la mer des Caraïbes. Il est situé entre les îles françaises de la Guadeloupe et de Marie-Galante au nord et à la Martinique, au sud.

Dominique ne doit pas être confondue avec la République dominicaine, une autre nation des Caraïbes. Dominique est le foyer d'environ 2208 Kalinagos, les survivants des premiers habitants de l'île.. Le peuple appelé l'île Waitukubuli (Tall est son corps.), et ils ont parlé d'eux-mêmes Kalinagos. Les Européens leur dénommés Caraïbes.

Dominique a forêt tropicale qui fournit un paradis pour la faune et la flore. Elle a 365 rivières et nombreuses chutes. En raison des activités volcaniques, l'île a un des plus grands lacs d'ébullition dans le monde. L'île est l'un des meilleures destinations de plongée et un premier emplacement dans la région des Caraïbes d'observation des baleines. L'île est riche en traditions et la culture unique.

En savoir plus sur Getting to Dominique.

Liens connexes: Site officiel de Dominique DiscoverDominica.com

 

Suivez-nous sur Facebook Suivez-nous sur Twitter Suivez-nous sur Youtube Événements Recherche Accueil(FR) Accueil(FR)

About Dominica

The Commonwealth of Dominica

Dominica was the name given to 289.8 sq. miles of land, by Christopher Columbus, when he landed here on November 3rd 1493. Dominica is an island nation that is part of the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. It lies between the French islands of Guadeloupe and Marie-Galante to the north and Martinique to the south.

Dominica should not be confused with the Dominican Republic, another Caribbean nation. Dominica is the home of approximately 2208 Kalinagos, the remaining survivors of the first inhabitants of the island. The people called the island Waitukubuli (tall is her body), and they referred to themselves Kalinagos. The Europeans referred to them as Caribs.

Dominica has tropical rainforest which provides a heaven for flora and fauna. It has 365 rivers and many waterfalls. Due to volcanic activities the island has one of the largest Boiling Lakes in the world. The island is one of the best dive destinations and a prime whale watching location in the Caribbean region. The island is rich in unique culture and traditions.

Find out more about Getting to Dominica.

Related link: Dominica’s Official Website DiscoverDominica.com

 

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube Events Search Home(EN) Home(FR)