About Dominica

The Commonwealth of Dominica

Dominica was the name given to 289.8 sq. miles of land, by Christopher Columbus, when he landed here on November 3rd 1493. Dominica is an island nation that is part of the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean Sea. It lies between the French islands of Guadeloupe and Marie-Galante to the north and Martinique to the south.

Dominica should not be confused with the Dominican Republic, another Caribbean nation. Dominica is the home of approximately 2208 Kalinagos, the remaining survivors of the first inhabitants of the island. The people called the island Waitukubuli (tall is her body), and they referred to themselves Kalinagos. The Europeans referred to them as Caribs.

Dominica has tropical rainforest which provides a heaven for flora and fauna. It has 365 rivers and many waterfalls. Due to volcanic activities the island has one of the largest Boiling Lakes in the world. The island is one of the best dive destinations and a prime whale watching location in the Caribbean region. The island is rich in unique culture and traditions.

Find out more about Getting to Dominica.

Related link: Dominica’s Official Website DiscoverDominica.com


Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube Events Search Home(EN) Home(FR)